The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

image

To begin with I couldn’t decide what to make of this book, but as i sit here with tears on my face I can safely say that it was a heart wrenching tale!
The story is narrated by death of all things, telling the story of liesel and her life in Natzi Germany. It makes the story more profound being narrated by death as he talks about the things he has seen during this time. He also conveys a story of life, love, loyalty, friendship, kindness, cruelty and extreme sorrow.
The beginning of The Book Thief was pleasant and flowed along nicely, working its way into your mind and heart. That fact makes the ending so much sadder seeing as the reader has gone through everything with these characters.
A very good read, well worth the time.

7 Comments

Filed under book reviews

7 responses to “The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

  1. I absolutely loved The Book Thief when I read it, and I would have to agree with you: Death’s narration just seems to be incredibly fitting for the situation and the era, and the story he conveys is definitely a deep one.
    Happy reading! 🙂

  2. I havent had the chance to read the book yet but I enjoyed the movie.

  3. Yes, I too enjoyed this book immensely and having lived and traveled throughout Germany for six years, could relate to this wonderful story. Thanks and I hope others will read this remarkable book. Blessings,

  4. I feel like one of the last people to read this, but I’ll get to it soon hopefully! I’ve heard the writing is beautiful and the story telling is just perfect. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

