Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

untitled2

This is book number one in a series of three so far and this is the first book by this author that I have had the pleasure of reading. Whilst I don’t usually pick out teen fiction to read I do quite like the zombie genre and I loved other adaptions by other authors such as Pride Prejudice and Zombies. However other than vague references to Alice in Wonderland that you will only pick up on if you know the story very well, the book has no tie to its name sake.

I found it quite an easy to read book not because of the content but mainly because of the fact I am an adult and not the indented market for the story. I also found it had a novel take on zombies as the hurt their head thing and hungry for brains bit has been done over and over again, so this book focuses on the fact that they are spirits instead of undead humans, they are however just as hungry for human flesh.

The main characters are Alice and her family, Kat her best friend and a group of troublesome teens that are led by Cole. Who by the way is described as being quite fit! There isn’t much I can say without spoiling the book for those of you who want to read it so I shall leave it at that and while you enjoy reading this I shall be moving on to the next book in the White Rabbit Chronicles.

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews

Leave a Reply

