The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks

untitled5

Well, I’m not one hundred percent sure where to start with this review. This is the first ever Iain Banks book that I have ever read and lets just say that it wasn’t my cup of tea, I was glad it was quite a short story as it just didn’t make sense to me and For some unknown reason I am not keen of books I do not understand.

The book didn’t seem to have a direction either, being told through first person narrative I thought it would have some depth but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The book as far as I can make out is about one family that are completely delusional and crazy, although it never really rounds out any one character so you just assume that they are all crazy from the various heinous acts that are described throughout the book.

I can’t even say that the books where hugely well written either as it kept jumping around from one piece of narrative to another. In all it made me feel like the mad one trying to decifer this book! I truly hate to give bad reviews but I am not going to give a good review to a book I didn’t enjoy, however this is just my opinion so feel free to read The Wasp Factory and let me know what your opinions are. I have never read any other Iain Banks novels so maybe they are not all like this!

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews

Leave a Reply

