The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo

This is the first Jo Nesbo book that I have read and I have to say that it was great. It is a story that really makes you think and has all kinds of twists and turns throughout which make it such a good book. Even at 618 pages I had trouble putting it down and even when I did I would think about it occasionally so I could try to figure out the suspect for myself.

The Redbreast is set between WWII and 2000 and involves Detective Harry Hole. Hole is the main character for nearly all of Nesbo’s books which is good as the reader has someone to relate to each time. This story centers around the fact that an unusual gun has arrived in Oslo sparking interest within the police force, then what seem to be random murders start happening. For Detective Harry Hole, nothing is random and he doesn’t believe in coincidences so can he find the killer before he sets his sights on another victim?

This story was brilliant, if you like being made to follow and think about the progression of the story instead of being carried along. This book is definitely  worth a read.

2 Comments

Filed under book reviews

2 responses to “The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo

  1. I read and reviewed The Snowman a few months ago and had a similar response to that book as you did to this one. Nesbo is an awesome writer. I have had The Redbreast on my wishlist for a while now, glad to see a positive review.

Leave a Reply

