Songs of the Humpback Whale by Jodi Picoult

Songs of the Humpback Whale is Jodi Picoult’s first novel and I have to say that after reading her other brilliant books, like My Sister’s Keeper and Handle with Care among others,  I was disappointed!

The story is told from the perspective of five characters within the book, which to start off with makes the book quite disjointed and hard to settle into. Then as the story starts to come together through each persons narrative, even from a different point of view becomes slightly repetitive. Towards the end of the story I start getting into the book as it all starts coming together properly but by then the book has finished.

I have found all the other Jodi Picoult books that I have read to be really good, interesting and complicated. They actually make you think about what you would do if you was in the same situation as the characters in the story, some of the tales even made me cry!

Hopefully this was just a kind of first novel issue as I have yet to find another like it, so one bad book will not spoil the bunch I definitely suggest reading some of Jodi Picoult’s other work.

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews

Leave a Reply

