50 Shades of Grey Trilogy by E.L James

Yes I know I jumped on the 50 Shades band wagon too, I couldn’t help it. As an avid reader of everything I had to know why everyone was getting so worked up by these three books. I also did it for you guys, the people who read and follow my blog I thought maybe you would like my opinion on 50 Shades of Grey. It’s a lame excuse I know but I’m sticking with it!

I enjoyed the books in general yes they are full of sex on nearly every page and yes Mr Christian Grey is Dominant to say the least, but I didn’t think the stories were that well written. When the books launched people either went mad for the sex or went mad for the way Grey treated women but in my opinion no one has that amount of sex, especially when pregnant and in that style lol, and the way he treated women was nothing that they hadn’t signed up for.

All that changes when Christian Grey meets Anastasia Steele and the book turns in to an erotic love story. Christians childhood was horrific and Ana is helping him through that and trying to convince him that he is lovable and doesn’t need all the weird kinky stuff, well the painful kinky stuff anyway!! That aspect of the book I enjoyed and the love between the two of them was good but there was no need of the extra drama at all between the Grey’s and a man named Jack Hyde. Also I found that the chapter at the end called meet Mr Grey was quite disappointing, it would have been a good chapter if it had continued the way it had started with Christian as a little boy but it doesn’t it goes on to literally repeat a chapter from the first book but from his point of view, making it utterly pointless.

These books are a good summer read for an erotic trashy novel but I don’t think they will ever become my favorite.

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews

Leave a Reply

