All for You By Sheila O’Flanagan

I have said this for all the previous Sheila books I have blogged about but I am going to say it again, this book is both heartwarming and heartbreaking in equal measure. This story focuses on the relationship between Lainey and her feminist mother Deanna.

Having been brought up by her grandmother Madeleine and grandfather Edmund, Lainey doesn’t have a very good relationship with Deanna, especially as they have spent most of their lives worlds apart. Leaving Lainey in Ireland with her parents Deanna goes to America to follow her feminist dream, because of this Lainey believes she is a disappointment to her mother for wanting that happy ever after that Deanna herself has fought so hard against.

Lainey is unlucky in love and on some level blames her mother, Deanna has closed her heart to love and blames Lainey’s father but are either of them really that different from each other deep down? The story highlights the rocky relationship between mother and daughter and also between daughter and most of the men in her life.

The book itself has a unique aspect to it as well, each chapter starts with  a word and its meaning about the weather wich I found quite cool and informative. I presume the reason behind this idea is because Lainey herself in the story is a weather girl and meteorologist, meaning that every aspect of the weather fascinates her.

In my opinion this story is about a girl who only wants to be loved because deep down she felt abandoned by her mother and father. This book is worth a read, especially if you want to find out if Lainey and Deanna can ever find happiness together as mother and daughter!!!

2 Comments

Filed under book reviews

2 responses to “All for You By Sheila O’Flanagan

  1. Thanks for your lovely reviews of my books, Kirsty. I’m delighted you like them! Sx

    • I have never read a bad book written by you. I read the first one a few years ago and suddenly decided that I wanted to read all the books you had ever written, all I can say is that i’m glad that I did. Sometimes the story makes me sad but I always know it wil make me happy in the end. kx

Leave a Reply

